Public Health

Central District Health Department is one of seven health districts in the state of Idaho. In 1970, the Idaho Legislature recognized the value that a formal public health structure would provide Idaho residents. That year, the Legislature created the health districts to ensure that all Idahoans have access to local public health services. Each health district covers a group of counties. CDHD oversees Ada, Boise, Elmore and Valley counties.

The seven health districts share a common vision:
Healthy People in Healthy Communities 

Our common goals:

  • Prevent disease
  • Promote healthy lifestyles
  • Protect the health and quality of the environment


Here you will find links to public health resources in region 4. They include classes and workshops offered through the health department as well as other agencies in our region.

General Wellness Sites

Tobacco Cessation

Senior Citizen Classes

Prescription Drug Overdose Prevention Support

Heart Disease and Diabetes

Cancer Prevention

Behavioral Health

Family Health