Idaho’s Seven Local Health Districts

Central District Health Department is one of seven health districts in the state of Idaho. In 1970, the Idaho Legislature recognized the value that a formal public health structure would provide Idaho residents. That year, the Legislature created the health districts to ensure that all Idahoans have access to local public health services. Each health district covers a group of counties. CDHD oversees Ada, Boise, Elmore and Valley counties.

The seven health districts share a common vision:
Healthy People in Healthy Communities 

Our common goals:

  • Prevent disease
  • Promote healthy lifestyles
  • Protect the health and quality of the environment


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s